The World’s Best Playmaker According to IFFHS

World’s Best Playmaker According to IFFHS: The IFFHS World’s Best Playmaker Award is given every year by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS). It goes to the player who is believed to be the best playmaker in the world for the previous year.

A playmaker is a player who guides and controls the team’s offensive strategy. They’re often the ones making passes that lead to goals. Good playmakers have exceptional skills like vision, technique, ball control, creativity, and passing ability.

To decide the winner of this award, experts in football from around the world vote, and their votes are weighted. They consider a player’s performance in all kinds of matches, both for their club and their national team.

The World’s Best Playmaker According to IFFHS

This award was first given out in 2006, and it recognizes the top playmaker in the world.

2006Zinedine ZidaneReal MadridFrance
2012Andrés IniestaBarcelonaSpain
2013Andrés IniestaBarcelonaSpain
2014Toni KroosBayern Munich/Real MadridGermany
2015Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
2016Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
2017Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
2018Luka ModrićReal MadridCroatia
2019Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
2020Kevin De BruyneManchester CityBelgium
2021Kevin De BruyneManchester CityBelgium
2022Lionel MessiParis Saint-GermainArgentina

Multiple Winners

Lionel Messi has won the IFFHS World’s Best Playmaker Award five times, which is a record. He’s widely seen as the best playmaker ever. Messi is famous for his incredible vision, his skill in dribbling past defenders, and his precise passing. He’s also scored a lot of goals in his career, which makes him even more dangerous as a playmaker.

Xavi won the award four times in a row, from 2008 to 2011. He was a master at controlling the pace of a game and directing how it was played. Xavi was also an outstanding passer, always finding his teammates in good positions.

Andrés Iniesta won the award twice, in 2012 and 2013. Iniesta, like Messi and Xavi, had incredible vision and passing skills. He was also skilled at dribbling past defenders and creating chances for his team.

Kevin De Bruyne has won the award twice, in 2020 and 2021. He’s one of the most well-rounded playmakers in today’s football world. De Bruyne excels in passing, dribbling, and shooting. He’s also a smart player, always making the right decisions on the field.

These four players are the only ones who have won the IFFHS World’s Best Playmaker Award multiple times. They are all exceptional and have had a huge impact on the game of football.

PlayerCountryWins (Years)
Lionel MessiArgentina5x (2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2022)
XaviSpain4x (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011)
Andrés IniestaSpain2x (2012, 2013)
Kevin De BruyneBelgium2x (2020, 2021)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top