Miguel Munoz Trophy Winners

Miguel Munoz Trophy Winners: The Miguel Muñoz Trophy is a football award presented by the Spanish sports newspaper Marca. It was first introduced in the 2005/06 season and is named in tribute to the renowned Real Madrid coach, Miguel Muñoz, who enjoyed remarkable success with Real Madrid by winning nine national championships and two European Cups between 1959 and 1972.

The trophy is given based on how well coaches’ teams perform in matches, as rated by Marca. After each matchday, coaches get points depending on how their team does. These points are added up, and at the end of the season, the coach with the most points gets the trophy.

Miguel Muñoz Trophy Winners

The coach who has won the Miguel Muñoz Trophy the most times is Diego Simeone, and he’s won it three times. He got it while coaching Atletico Madrid in La Liga. Some other coaches who have won it more than once include Pep Guardiola, who won it twice with Barcelona in La Liga, and Jose Mourinho, who also won it twice with Real Madrid in La Liga.

The current holder of the Miguel Muñoz Trophy in La Liga is Imanol Alguacil, He won it in the 2022-23 season. Imanol Alguacil won it with Real Sociedad.

La Liga

Here are the winners of the Miguel Muñoz Trophy:

2005/06Bernd SchusterGetafe FC63
2006/07MarcelinoRecreational Huelva67
Juande RamosSevilla FC67
2007/08Manuel PellegriniVillarreal FC69
2008/09Pep GuardiolaFC Barcelona77
2009/10Pep GuardiolaFC Barcelona77
2010/11Jose MourinhoReal Madrid72
2011/12Jose MourinhoReal Madrid77
2012/13Tito VilanovaFC Barcelona252
2013/14Diego SimeoneAtletico Madrid269.5
2014/15Carlo AncelottiReal Madrid247.5
2015/16Diego SimeoneAtletico Madrid243.5
2016/17Jose Luis MendilibarSD Eibar67
Asier GaritanoCD Leganes67
2017/18MarcelinoValencia FC69
2018–19Pepe BordalásGetafe 68
2019–20Zinedine ZidaneReal Madrid 67
Julen LopeteguiSevilla67
2020–21Diego SimeoneAtlético Madrid 72
2021–22Carlo AncelottiReal Madrid69
Manuel PellegriniReal Betis69
2022–23Imanol AlguacilReal Sociedad67
Segunda División

The Miguel Muñoz Trophy in Segunda División is given to the manager who earns the most points during the season.

Unai Emery is the most successful manager in Segunda División history, winning the award twice with Lorca Deportiva in 2005–06 and Almería in 2006–07. Other managers who have won it more than once include Rubi (Huesca in 2017–18 and Almería in 2021–22), Luis García (Levante in 2009-10 and Rayo Mallorca in 2020–21), and José Luis Mendilibar (Eibar in 2014-15 and 2017-18).

The current holder of the Miguel Muñoz Trophy in Segunda División is Rubi, who managed Almería in the 2021-22 season.

2005–06Unai EmeryLorca Deportiva76
2006–07Unai EmeryAlmería78
2007–08Manuel PreciadoSporting Gijón77
2009–10Luis GarcíaLevante81
2010–11José Ramón SandovalRayo Vallecano85
2011–12Juan Antonio AnquelaAlcorcón84
2012–13Fran EscribáElche293.5
2013–14Gaizka GaritanoEibar272
2014–15AbelardoSporting Gijón287.5
2015–16Asier GaritanoLeganés266.5
2016–17Juan MuñizLevante78
2018–19Diego MartínezGranada80
2019–20Miguel SanchezHuesca72
2020–21Luis GarcíaMallorca72


Marcelino is an impressive three-time winner, securing the Miguel Muñoz Trophy in La Liga with both Recreativo and Valencia and in Segunda División with Zaragoza. Additionally, he and Juande Ramos (Sevilla) were the first-ever co-winners of the award in La Liga for the 2006–07 season.

Pep Guardiola

Pep Guardiola made history as the first-ever two-time winner of the Miguel Muñoz Trophy in La Liga while coaching Barcelona.

Unai Emery

Unai Emery achieved the distinction of becoming the first-ever two-time winner of the Miguel Muñoz Trophy in Segunda División, doing so with Lorca Deportiva and Almería.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top