Zarra Trophy Winners

Zarra Trophy Winners: The Zarra Trophy is a prize given every year by the sports newspaper Marca. It’s given to the best Spanish goal scorer in the top two football leagues in Spain. The trophy is named after a famous player named Zarra. He played for Athletic de Bilbao and scored 251 goals in 278 games from 1940 to 1955. He held the record for the most goals in the La Liga until November 2014.

The first time they gave out this award was after the 2005/06 season.

Zarra Trophy Winners

David Villa has won the Zarra Trophy the most times, with four wins. Another player, Iago Aspas, has won it three times, and he’s the only one besides David Villa to win it more than twice.

La Liga

The winners of the Zarra Trophy are:

2005/06David VillaAsturiasValencia FC25
2006/07David VillaAsturiasValencia FC16
2007/08Daniel GüizaAndalusiaRCD Mallorca27
2008/09David VillaAsturiasValencia FC28
2009/10David VillaAsturiasValencia FC21
2010/11Alvaro NegredoMadridFC Seville20
2011/12Roberto SoldadoValenciaValencia FC17
2012/13Alvaro NegredoMadridFC Seville25
2013/14Diego CostaBrazil (naturalized)Atletico Madrid27
2014/15Aritz AdurizBasque CountryAthletic Bilbao18
2015/16Aritz AdurizBasque CountryAthletic Bilbao20
2016/17Iago AspasGaliciaCelta Vigo19
2017/18Iago AspasGaliciaCelta Vigo22
2018/19Iago AspasGaliciaCelta Vigo20
2019/20Gerard MorenoCataloniaVillarreal FC18
2020/21Gerard MorenoCataloniaVillarreal FC23
2021/22Iago AspasGaliciaCelta Vigo18
Segunda Division
2005/06Roberto SoldadoValenciaReal Madrid Castilla19
Jose Juan LuqueAndalusiaCiudad de Murcia19
2006/07Marcos MarquezAndalusiaUD Las Palmas21
2007/08YordiAndalusiaDeportivo Xerez20
2008/09NinoAndalusiaCD Tenerife29
2009/10Jorge MolinaValenciaFC Elche26
2010/11Jonathan SorianoCataloniaFC Barcelona B32
2011/12Iago AspasGaliciaCelta Vigo23
2012/13JeséCanary IslandsReal Madrid Castilla22
2013/14Borja VigueraLa RiojaDeportivo Alaves25
2014/15Ruben CastroCanary IslandsBetis Sevilla32
2015/16Sergio LeonAndalusiaFC Elche22
2016/17JoseluAndalusiaCD Lugo23
2017/18Jaime MataMadridReal Valladolid33
2018/19Álvaro GiménezValenciaFC Cadiz20
2019/20StoichkovAndalusiaAD Alcorcon16
2020–21Raúl de TomásCommunity of MadridEspanyol23
2021–22Borja BastónCommunity of MadridOviedo22
2022–23Raúl GarcíaCatalonia Mirandés19

Winners Before Being Awarded the Zarra Trophy

The Zarra Trophy was first awarded in 2006, so there were no winners before that. There were several players who scored the most goals by a Spanish player in La Liga before the award was created. These players are;

La Liga
1985/86Jose Mari BakeroReal Sociedad16
1986/87Enrique MagdalenoRCD Mallorca19
1987/88Jose Mari BakeroReal Sociedad17
1988/89Julio SalinasBarcelona FC20
1989/90Julio SalinasBarcelona FC15
1990/91Emilio ButragueñoReal Madrid19
1991/92ManoloAtletico Madrid27
1992/93Jose Angel ZigandaAthletic Bilbao17
1993/94Carlos MuñozReal Oviedo20
1994/95Carlos MuñozReal Oviedo14
1995/96RaulReal Madrid19
1996/97AlfonsoBetis Sevilla25
1997/98Luis EnriqueBarcelona FC18
1998/99RaulReal Madrid25
1999/2000SalvaRacing Santander27
2000/01RaulReal Madrid24
2001/02Diego TristanDeportivo La Coruna21
2002/03RaulReal Madrid16
2003/04MistaValencia FC19
Fernando TorresAtletico Madrid19
2004/05Fernando TorresAtletico Madrid16

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top