Trofeo EFE Winners

Trofeo EFE Winners: The Trofeo EFE is a yearly award given by the EFE news agency since the 1990/91 season. It’s given to the best Latin American or Ibero-American football player in Spain’s La Liga. The player with the most wins (5 times) is Lionel Messi from Argentina.

A former Argentine player Fernando Redondo, who played for CD Tenerife from 1990 to 1994 and later for Real Madrid from 1995 to 2000, received a special award for being the best player of the 1990s. In the 2016/17 season, Real Madrid as a club received a special award for being the best Ibero-American club.

In the 2017/18 season, Edison Cavani from Uruguay, who plays for Paris Saint-Germain, was the only player from outside the Spanish La Liga to win the award.

Trofeo EFE Wins by Player

In this article, we are discussing the player who has won the Trofeo EFE the most number of times.

1. Lionel Messi

  • Country: Argentina
  • Number of Wins: 5 (2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2010–11, 2011–12)

Lionel Messi holds the record for the most Trofeo EFE wins, with 5 in total.

Best Footballers in the World in 2024
Image Source: Instagram

Messi’s first win came in the 2006-07 season, and he continued to win it consecutively from the 2008-09 to the 2011-12 season. Messi is widely regarded as one of the greatest football players ever, and his incredible performance in La Liga was unmatched during those years.

2. Iván Zamorano

  • Country: Chile
  • Number of Wins: 2 (1992–93, 1994–95)

Iván Zamorano earned the Trofeo EFE award two times, during the 1992-93 and 1994-95 seasons. In the 1992-93 season, he impressively scored 37 goals in 45 games. Then, in the 1994-95 season, he netted 31 goals in 44 matches, a key contribution to Real Madrid’s victory in the La Liga championship.

Zamorano was not only a successful player but also greatly admired by the fans. His two Trofeo EFE wins serve as a lasting testament to his significant impact on Spanish football.

3. Ronaldo

  • Country: Brazil
  • Number of Wins: 2 (1996–97, 2002–03)

Ronaldo Nazario achieved the Trofeo EFE award twice, in the 1996-97 and 2002-03 seasons. During the 1996-97 season, he astonishingly scored 47 goals in 49 matches. In the 2002-03 season, he scored 30 goals in 44 games.

Best Real Madrid Strikers of all time
Image Source: Instagram

Ronaldo’s Trofeo EFE victories underline his remarkable talent for scoring goals. He was a feared striker known for his ability to score goals from various positions on the field.

4. Luis Suárez

  • Country: Uruguay
  • Number of Wins: 2 (2014–15, 2020–21)

Luis Suárez is a two-time winner of the Trofeo EFE, earning the award in the 2014-15 and 2020-21 seasons. In the 2014-15 season, he impressively scored 25 goals in 43 matches, contributing significantly to Barcelona’s victories in La Liga, the Copa del Rey, and the UEFA Champions League.

Best Barcelona Strikers of all time
Image Source: Instagram

He was also honored with the European Golden Shoe as the top scorer in Europe’s top five leagues. Suárez is a versatile player capable of playing as a striker, winger, or even in the role of a false nine.

Trofeo EFE Winners

Vini Jr. was named the Best Ibero-American Player of 2022, receiving the EFE Trophy.

Expressing his gratitude, the Brazilian stated,

“I always aim to give my best, and receiving this award is significant for my ongoing improvement.”

Upon receiving the honor, he added,

“This award holds great personal meaning for me, considering the exceptional players who have received it in the past. It’s an important moment in my career, and I hope to maintain this level of performance in the upcoming season and throughout my time at Real Madrid.”

1990–91Rommel FernándezPanamaTenerife
1991–92José ZalazarUruguay Albacete
1992–93Iván ZamoranoChile Real Madrid
1993–94RomárioBrazil Barcelona
1994–95Iván ZamoranoChile Real Madrid
1995–96Diego SimeoneArgentina Atlético Madrid
1996–97RonaldoBrazil Barcelona
1997–98Roberto CarlosBrazil Real Madrid
1999–2000Martín HerreraArgentina Alavés
2000–01Roberto AcuñaParaguay Zaragoza
2001–02Javier SaviolaArgentina Barcelona
2002–03RonaldoBrazil Real Madrid
2004–05Diego ForlánUruguay Villarreal
2005–06Pablo AimarArgentina Valencia
2006–07Lionel MessiArgentina Barcelona
2007–08Sergio AgüeroArgentinaAtlético Madrid
2008–09Lionel MessiArgentina Barcelona
2009–10Lionel MessiArgentina Barcelona
2010–11Lionel MessiArgentina Barcelona
2011–12Lionel MessiArgentina Barcelona
2012–13*Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013–14Diego CostaBrazilAtlético Madrid
2014–15Luis SuárezUruguayBarcelona
2015–16Keylor NavasCosta Rica Real Madrid
2016–17Real MadridSpainSpecial edition
2017–18Edinson CavaniUruguay Paris Saint-Germain
2018–19Not Awarded
2019–20CasemiroBrazilReal Madrid
2020–21Luis SuárezUruguayAtlético Madrid
2021–22Vini Jr.BrazilReal Madrid

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi holds the record for the most wins of this award, with a total of five victories, and notably, four of them were consecutive.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top